Theatrical Season

Frei aber einsam


Sunday 16 January 2022 - 17:30

Cucinelli Theatre

Kirill Troussov violin
Alexandra Troussova piano


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Scherzo in C Minor WoO 2
Sonata no. 3 in D Minor  Op. 108
Un poco presto e con sentimento,
Presto agitato

César Franck (1822-1890)

Sonata in A Major Allegretto moderato,
Recitativo-Fantasia: Moderato,
Allegretto poco mosso

Johannes Brahms’ Sonata Op. 108 (his third) and César Franck’s Sonata in A Major are some of the best-known pieces among works for violin and piano.

True masterpieces, they were written in parallel in the late 1880s. Our programme begins with the Scherzo for the F.A.E.

Sonata (1853), the work jointly composed by Brahms, Dietrich, and Schumann in homage to Joseph Joachim (and his motto, Frei aber einsam), the only surviving piece of Brahms’ works for violin composed as a youth.

The Website uses analytical and profiling cookies, including those of third parties, such as the intersection between information collected through different functionalities of the website, in order to collect statistical information on users which is useful for sending advertisements in line with their preferences expressed while web browsing. If you want to learn moreĀ click here.
If a user continues browsing by accessing another area of the website or by selecting an element of the same (for example, an image or a link), these actions demonstrate his/her consent to the use of cookies.