Theatrical Season

Anna Tifu and Giuseppe Andaloro


Sunday 14 January 2024 - 17:30

at Teatro Cucinelli, Solomeo

C. Franck (1822-1890)

Sonata per violino e pianoforte

Allegretto ben moderato, Allegro

Ben moderato: Recitativo-Fantasia

Allegretto poco mosso

M. Ravel (1875-1937)


Lento, quasi cadenza

R. Schumann (1810-1856)

Fantasia op. 131

P. de Sarasate (1844-1908)

Fantasia da concerto sulla Carmen op. 25

Introduzione: Allegro moderato

Moderato, Lento assai, Allegro moderato Moderato

A blend of French Art with hints of Hispanic and Romani inspirations, this program pairs the renowned and unique Sonata for Violin and Piano by César Franck with two morceaux de bravoure (the concert rhapsody Tzigane by Maurice Ravel from 1924, and Carmen Fantaisie by Sarasate from 1881), and the rarer Fantasia op. 131 by Schumann, originally composed for violin and orchestra. These are vastly different pieces, all intended for specific performers (Ysaÿe/Franck, Arányi/Ravel, Joachim/Schumann, Hellmesberger/Sarasate) who, alongside the composers, are prominent figures in violin literature.